Cic to bte

Terry

Reaction score
Hello all! I have worn Widex cic aids for 7 yrs. I wear them from the minute I wake up until I go to bed. I'm a kindergarten teacher. Both of the Widex aids broke so I am trying out one Oticon Alta Pro. I have to wait until October to purchase the second one because that's when my new flex med cycle starts. My insurance doesn't pay anything for aids. I don't like just trying one but I have to have something. The sound is quite different. Is this always the case from aid to aid? I love that I now have a volume control! I don't want a remote. While I can turn it up, the voices on the TV or still often to understand. Oh, I have a moderate loss in both ears with a flat slot. I tried that sharp & distinct program but found it too harsh and switched it to the soft and round. I've had lots of issues with my hair brushing up against the mics. My audi says that the cic aids are about 30% larger than my previous. If I try a cic she wants me to try Widex again since I liked my others. I am discovering noises behind me that I haven't heard in 7 yrs. I expected to just love these bte Oticon aids and am disappointed that I don't. Is Widex a good aid? Am I better off with the bte new Oticon? Any thoughts?